Department of Engineering Physics in Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (ITS) was originally a study program in Physics Department, Faculty of Science, which first established at November 1965. Since November 10, 1983, this study program developed into Department of Engineering Physics, under the Faculty of Industrial Technology. The separation legalized by the Ministry of Higher Education with “Keputusan Dirjen Dikti RI No. 116/Dikti/Kep/1984”. The existance of Department of Engineering Physics is supported by STATUTA ITS 0443/O/1992 ratified 18 November 1992.

Engineering Physics has vast role in the development of science and technology related to industry. As a higher education institute, the undergraduate program of Engineering Physics has been accredited by BAN-PT (National Accreditation Bureau) with the score of A (Excellent) since 2006, renewed in 2012 by serial number 044/BAN-PT/Ak-XV/S1/XII/2012, and will be renewed again in 2017.

In the year of 1995, Department of Engineering Physics ITS established its diploma program, called Diploma of Instrumentation Engineering to answer the demand of instrumentation engineers in Indonesia. As in 2011, the program changed its name into Diploma of Metrology and Instrumentation and receive B accreditation since 2013 (BAP-PT No. 167/SK/BAN-PT/Ak-XIII/Dpl-III/VIII/2013).

With an intention to be actively engaged in the development of Engineering Physics, Department of Engineering Physics ITS officially announced the formation of Graduate Program (master degree) in 2008. The establishment is aimed to create active and independent alumni to develop the science and technological aspects of Engineering Physics. The master degree receive A (excellent) accreditation in 2013. Upon the success of master degree program, Department of Engineering Physics ITS mark its first class of Doctoral Degree program in 2014.

Since Janury 26, 2017, based on the “Peraturan Rektor Nomor 10 tahun 2016”, the Diploma of Metrology and Instrumentation is not the part of Department of Engineering Physics anymore, but operated under the Faculty of Vocation Education instead.